Review – Rosebud Salve

I’ve tried a lot of lip balms.. I’ve tried a lot of creams for very dry skin.. Most of them work the same, they protect your skin due to the petrolatum ingredient. Well, let me show you my miracle worker!


Smith’s Rosebud Salve original! This is, hands down, the best lip balm I’ve ever tried. This salve is invented in 1892, so it exists for 115 years already! Many celebrities swear by this product, and guess what? It’s one of my absolute favorite beauty products too!

First things first: I bought this on eBay, since it’s €10,- here in Holland. I paid only $6 including shipping, which is approximately €4,50. The tin has a great look: very vintage, I like that! The tin contains 24 grams (0.8 oz.) of product, which is a lot! Believe me, one tin will last you for a long time!

The salve contains the following ingredients: cotton seed oil, aromol and essential oils blended in a special (secret) petrolatum base. The combination of the cotton seed oil, essential oils and petrolatum will take care of dry skin. The smell is great: it smells like roses, but also a little sweet. Nothing too heavy, for my taste. It leaves a subtle shine on your lips, which is very pretty.

You can use this salve for your lips, but it’s also great for your dry hands, elbows, knees, feet and every other part of your body that needs some moisture and softness!

Do you want a secret beauty tip from me? Put this on your cuticles before you go to sleep and wake up with soft and beautiful cuticles!

Smith’s also released some other ‘flavors’: Minted Rose, Mocha Rose, Brambleberry Rose, Strawberry and Menthol & Eucalyptus. You can check these out, but the Original remains my favorite!

You don’t like lip balms in a tin? Don’t worry! I have a scoop for you guys: their wonderful Rosebud Original is now available in a TUBE! 😀

Now tell me what’s your favorite lip balm?

Your beauty addict,
Natasja

4 thoughts on “Review – Rosebud Salve

  1. Supertip =)

    Ik gebruik hem ook op m’n nagels , en ik geloof echt dat dit mijn wondermiddeltje is voor lange , sterke nagels !

    Wel balen – heb hem in NL gekocht voor €11 fzo

Tell me what you think!

