Quickies – Nail polish removal

In this new category, I’m going to give some quick tips & tricks which I’ve learned through out the years. Of course, these are all beauty-related. This week, I’m going to talk about nail polish removal. Enjoy!

I love nail polish, don’t get me wrong.. But some polishes are a complete P.I.T.A. to remove! Especially the pretty glitters and flakies! Sigh..


I’ve been searching and searching for good techniques to remove polishes, and these are the things I’ve learned!
– First of all: Acetone-free doesn’t always equals better! Almost everyone recommends you to use an acetone-free nail polish remover, because acetone is a very harsh and drying ingredient. If you use acetone a lot, it can cause your nails to peel and split, because the nail plate will dry out. However, I’ve learned that some acetone-free polish removers are very harsh (if not, even more harsh than the acetone based ones). Check out this article and don’t forget to check the ingredients if you buy acetone-free nail polish remover!
– I almost always (except if I’m wearing my glue-on nails) use an acetone-based nail polish remover, because I find that it works easier and quicker. But if you choose to use an acetone-based remover, ALWAYS use a good moisturizer afterwards.
– One way to remove those stubborn (glitter) nail polishes, is to use a small piece of felt instead of cotton pads.
– The other way (and my favourite!), is to cut up some cotton pads, soak them in nail polish remover, lay them on your nail and cover the nail with aluminium foil. Let this sit for a few minutes (no longer than 10 minutes) and ta-dah! Clean nails 🙂 Don’t forget to moisturize with a good cream afterwards!

My favourite nail polish removers:
– Etos acetone-based / acetone-free (Dutch drugstore brand)
– Pure acetone (to soak off glue-on nails)

For my American readers: I heard the Zoya Remove + nail polish remover is very nice!

What are your tips on how to remove nail polish? Let me know in the comments!

Your beauty addict,
Natasja

6 thoughts on “Quickies – Nail polish removal

  1. Ik laat het ook altijd even erop zitten en dan veeg je het er zo af! Ik vind aceton-vrije nagellak een drama, het wordt altijd een zooitje bij mij en ik heb meer remover en wattenschijfjes ervoor nodig, dus ik gebruik meestal nagellakremover met aceton van Kruidvat. En vooral niet gaan zitten boenen op je nagels, dan worden je vingers ook gelijk dezelfde kleur :p

  2. dat zijn inderdaad goede tips 🙂
    Ik vind glitters en flakies ook altijd zo’n crime om eraf te krijgen.
    Ik heb zelf remover van Konad met Aceton en die werkt prima en drogen mijn nagels niet zo erg uit.
    Van sommige removers willen mijn nagels nog wel eens wit uitslaan :$

    • Ja je vertelde al over die remover. Jammer dat je die online moet kopen. Wie weet probeer ik ‘m een keertje. Dat wit uitslaan is een teken dat de remover erg aggressief is en/of teveel aceton bevat.

  3. Als ik glitter nagellak wil gebruiken, lak ik eerst m’n nagels met een ‘gewone’ lak (in een kleurtje dat matcht). Daarna doe ik de glitterlak erover heen. Maakt ‘t veel makkelijker om te verwijderen!

Tell me what you think!

