Review: Catrice Ultimate Shine lipsticks 110 & 160

As you might know, Catrice updates their standard collection every 6 months. The time has come and some products must be discontinued, to make room for new products. I was at my local drugstore (Kruidvat) and decided to buy two lipsticks from their Ultimate Shine Line, that were getting discontinued. They were now -50%, so I only paid €2 per lipstick: a steal! 😀 I chose the colors 110 Shy Flamingo (a deep coral with glitter) and 160 Pink Panther (a light shimmery cool pink).

Catrice Ultimate Shine lipsticks come in a very sleek, silver colored packaging. The bottom of the lipstick has a colored sticker with the name and the number of the lipstick. This makes it easy to store them upside down, but you’ll still know what color the lipstick has. As you can see in the pictures above, 110 Shy Flamingo has a curved shape lipstick, while 160 Pink Panther is ‘normal’ shaped. Catrice decided to change the shape of the lipsticks, since many bloggers/customers complained about it. The curved shape makes applying the lipstick to your lips a little tricky. Props to Catrice for listening to their customers. The ‘normal’ shape is much much easier to control application. ‘Catrice’ is engraved in the actual lipstick, this makes the lipstick look very sleek & expensive as well! The lipsticks contain 3.5 gr. of product, which is very good, considering its low price point.

Swatches

110 Shy Flamingo – 160 Pink Panther


110 Shy Flamingo


160 Pink Panther


110 Shy Flamingo


160 Pink Panther

The rest of my makeup:
Face
Essence My Base Illuminating Make-Up Base
l’Oréal Paris True Match Super Blendable Made-To-Measure – C1 Rose Ivory + Catrice Photo Finish Liquid Foundation 18H – 010 Sand Beige (mixed 1/1)
MAC Studio Moisture Cover Concealer – NW15 (under eyes)
Catrice Prime And Fine Translucent Loose Powder

Cheeks
NYX Powder Blush – Taupe PB11
Essence Bronzing Compact Powder Matt – Love To Be Matt 02
MAC Mineralize Blush – Warm Soul
MAC Mineralize Skinfinish – Soft & Gentle

Eyes
Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base
Catrice Made To Stay Highlighter Pen – Eye Like! (inner corners & brow bone)
Max Factor False Lash Effect Mascara – Black

Brows
HEMA Eyebrow Pencil – 09
HEMA Eyebrow Gel – Brown
MAC Studio Finish Concealer SPF 35 – NC15 (clean-up)

Shy Flamingo is a deep coral color, with lots of gold and silver glitter in it. I hated this! I mean.. I love the color, but what’s up with the grittiness? It’s like having sandpaper on your lips! 😦 Pink Panther is a very light cool pink color, with a little gold/pink/purple shimmer. It’s very pretty and feels much better on your lips. I really love both colors, although I think Shy Flamingo suits me a little better. I love corals, so that’s no surprise 😉

The lipsticks have good color pay-off and the lipsticks feel like butter on your lips. Pink Panther has a tendency to seep a little in the fine lines of your lips, I guess this is due to the light, milky color. It’s not very bad, though. The lipsticks smell a little like vanilla, very sweet. I really like it, but it’s not overpowering. The staying power is so-so, you need to reapply every 2 hours, this has to do with the buttery formula.

Final thoughts
I love the formula of the Catrice Ultimate Shine lipsticks. I really like both colors, though 110 Shy Flamingo is my favorite. But I’m really bummed about the gritty/glittery feeling when wearing Shy Flamingo. I’m glad I purchased both colors though, I’m sure I’ll use them a lot!

Catrice Ultimate Shine lipsticks can be purchased at your local Kruidvat/Trekpleister for €3.99 each, some colors will be discontinued in August (’12), so they’re priced -50%. Stay tuned for another blog post about Catrice’s collection update!

Do you like glittery lipsticks/lipglosses?

Natasja ❤

2 thoughts on “Review: Catrice Ultimate Shine lipsticks 110 & 160

Tell me what you think!

