Review: l’Oréal Rouge Caresse lipstick Dating Coral

A few weeks ago, l’Oréal surprised us with an amazing new line of lipsticks: Rouge Caresse. I fell in love with the coral color: Dating coral. I decided to pick it up during a BOGO sale at my local drugstore.

l’Oréal Rouge Caresse lipsticks come in a very pretty, modern packaging. Golden, with see-through lid. The top of the lipstick has the color of the lipstick (as you can see in the picture above) and the color name & number is on the bottom of the lipstick on a colored sticker, which is also in the color of the lipstick. That’s handy! The lipsticks have a round, flat shape, which remind me of a lip balm. I really like this shape for application, it makes it easy.

I have one big pet peeve though, would you please look at the huge, enormous, unbelievably stupid, unable-to-remove security sticker (see picture below)? It drove me nuts, my nail broke and it left such a nasty sticky adhesive on the lipstick. I had to remove it with white spirit.

Swatches


Base
Monistat Chafing Relief Powder-Gel
Skin79 Super+ BB Triple Functions UV Interception SPF50+ PA++ Whitening + Wrinkle Improvement
MAC Studio Moisture Cover Concealer – NW15 (under eyes)
Catrice Prime And Fine Translucent Loose Powder

Cheeks
NYX Powder Blush – Taupe PB11
Essence Bronzing Compact Powder Matt – Love To Be Matt 02
MAC Mineralize Blush – Warm Soul
MAC Mineralize Skinfinish – Soft & Gentle

Eyes
Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base
Catrice Made To Stay Highlighter Pen – Eye Like! (inner corners & brow bone)
Max Factor False Lash Effect Mascara – Black

Brows
HEMA Eyebrow Pencil – 09
HEMA Eyebrow Gel – Brown
MAC Studio Finish Concealer SPF 35 – NC15 (clean-up)

The color pay-off of the lipstick is so pretty. Of course, it’s not as pigmented as a MAC cremesheen lipstick, but hey! 😉 It gives a subtle color to your lips (depending on the color), but this particular color is a pretty amazing coral color. It has subtle gold shimmer in it, but you don’t really notice the shimmer on your lips.

l’Oréal promises this lipstick to be a sensual color, which feels as light as air on the lips. I really like the formula of this lipstick: it glides on your lips like butter, feels like a lip balm and gives them a nice sheen. Funnily though, the lipstick does leave my lips a little bit dry. But then again, that may just be my weirdo skin 😛 The lipstick smells a little sweet, but not overpowering at all. The staying power is so-so, you need to reapply every 2 hours, this has to do with the buttery formula.

Final thoughts
I really, really like this lipstick. I love the color, I love the formula. It’s one of my favorite lipsticks now 😀 I’m a little bit disappointed that it leaves my lips a bit dry, though.

l’Oréal Rouge Caresse lipsticks can be purchased at your local drugstore, they retail for €14.99 each.

What do you think about buttery formulated lipsticks? Do you like them as much as I do, or do prefer a matte lipstick?

Natasja ❤

Tell me what you think!

